False Enom & Network Solutions Emails

 
October 29th, 2008 by Adam

Short Story:
This morning and yesterday we have seen an outbreak of false phishing emails under the false disguise of an Enom.com email, and now they have expanded this to Network Solutions emails as well. Please note that the actual companies have nothing to do with this, but it is someone using the appearance of them to trick you. Don’t click on anything or worry about the email, simply delete these messages as spam and that should do it.

Longer Story:
The from shows up as Enom Support, Enom Technical Support, or just EnomCentral for the most part and the email address is spoofed as info@enom.com. The subject will look something like this: Inaccurate whois information. [IncidentID:20722] or something to that effect.

You’ll also notice that there are links that appear to go to http://enom.com to “solve the problem” with your WHOIS records. However, if you click on the links you will NOT go to Enom but will go to http://www.enom.com.sys82.biz which is definitely not the place to go change your records. So you will not want to click on those links either. I tested it on the mac and the domain name doesn’t resolve to anything, but who knows what it will do to PC users, so please be careful not to click on the links.

To find out who you have registered your domain name with, view your contact information posted in your WHOIS records, or check your expiration date, please visit WHOIS.net and do a “WHOIS LOOKUP” on your domain name. That will tell you everything that you need to know about your registration records.

We hope this helps. If you are unsure of any of this please email us at info@dogbark.com.

Leave a Reply